besos, espresso

Growing up, I would spend many a weeknight sitting around the dinner table at my best friend Alicia’s house, eating  five-course Italian feasts that her mom would cook for us. The dinners, which usually included a steaming bowl of pasta to start, tender slices of roast beef, savoury roasted potatoes and crunchy, fresh cabbage salad, always finished with a bowl of coffee ice cream and an espresso made in the family’s stove top  moka.  Drinking espresso made in the stainless steel container seemed so refined and made a regular Wednesday night feel special.

We all know how those $2 (or $3 or $4) morning coffees can add up, so I purchased my own moka a few years ago. Every morning,  the scent of espresso coffee fills my apartment and I channel Sophia Loren, sipping  Lavazza Crema e Gusto coffee while I apply my makeup.

When I brought my first moka home, I wasn’t quite sure how to use the contraption. Eventually, Alicia had to come over and walk me through it step-by-step. So just in case, here are some  instructions for brewing espresso in a moka.

What are your luxe morning rituals?

Leave a Reply

