Eating in: South Indian prawn curry

Not only is my bf as cute as a button, but he’s a fantastic cook as well. When we first started dating, he would invite me over and cook extravagant South Indian feasts. I’ll never forget the first time he made what he calls Spicy Lamb Dry Curry. He made sure to leave out a few of the hot peppers in an attempt to respect my North American (but still adventurous) tastebuds.

Still, two minutes after digging in, my face was red and my mouth was on fire. But I didn’t mind. I had my emergency tub of cooling yogourt to ease the pain while I savoured every last morsel of the dry-fried, tender lamb and basmati rice, all of which I shovelled into my mouth (yes, very attractive when you first start dating) with paratha, best described as a  flaky, rich flattened croissant.

I was too squeemish to got for the full experience of eating the entire meal with my hands (including the stewy shrimp and rice) as bf was doing and as is traditionally done in India. Maybe I’ll try it if bf takes me to India one day, but for now, I like my cutlery, thank you very much.

Bf doesn’t normally use recipes (‘it’s all up here’, he tells me) but I watched him one night and wrote down what I could. Here’s the shrimp recipe. I’ll post the Spicy Lamb Dry Curry another time. Enjoy!

Ebe’s South Indian Prawn Curry

Ingredients for 4 Servings

2 onions, roughly chopped
1/2 tbsp ginger, roughly chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 lb of peeled, deveined prawns
3 hot green chilies
2 tomatoes, chopped
1 tsp each turmeric, coriander, garam masala
salt

Method

Heat olive oil in a non stick frying pan over high heat. Add garlic and ginger and fry for 2 minutes.

Add onion and chilies. Fry for 10 minutes, or until all ingredients are soft and brown, stirring occassionally.

Cut tomatoes while holding them over the pan, to ensure all of the juices make their way in. Add tomatoes and cook another 10 minutes, stirring occassionally.

Add spices and prawns and cook until pink. Salt to taste.

Serve with basmati rice and flaky paratha (we like the Shana brand).

What are your favourite Indian recipes?

2 thoughts on “Eating in: South Indian prawn curry

  1. I tried Ebe’s prawn curry and it was delicious. A very simple recipe that doesn’t call for a plethora of ingredients and is super fast and easy. I always say, you can’t beat home-cooked Indian cuisine.

Leave a Reply

